

Report of	Meeting	Date
Director of Governance and Monitoring Officer(Introduced by Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member (Strategy and Reform)	Cabinet Council	Wednesday, 19 January 2022 Wednesday, 26 January 2022

Is this decision key?	No

Is this report confidential?	No

Nomination of Mayor-elect and Deputy Mayor-elect for 2022/2023

Purpose of the Report

1. The purpose of this report is to allow Cabinet to nominate the Mayor-elect and Deputy Mayor-elect for 2022/2023 (with a view to becoming Mayor 2023/2024) and to put forward a protocol for the selection of future Mayors based on length of service and political rotation to Full Council.

Recommendations to Cabinet

Cabinet agrees:

- 2. That Councillor David Howarth be nominated as Mayor-elect for 2022-2023.
- 3. That Deputy Mayor for 2022-2023 be nominated at the meeting with a view to becoming Mayor in 2023-2024.
- 4. That from 2024-25 the Mayor be nominated on the basis of length of service and being a member of the Conservative Group as outlined in this report.

Recommendations to Council

Council agrees:

5. That Councillor David Howarth be nominated as Mayor-elect for 2022-2023.

- 6. That Deputy Mayor for 2022-2023 be nominated at the meeting, following Cabinet, with a view to becoming Mayor in 2023-2024.
- 7. That from 2024-25 the Mayor be nominated on the basis of length of service and being a member of the Conservative Group as outlined in this report.

Reasons for recommendations

8. To ensure that the Mayor is appointed by the Council for the next municipal year.

Other options considered and rejected

9. Not applicable as legally we must appoint a Mayor to chair council meetings and undertake the required duties within the Council's constitution.

Corporate priorities

10. The report relates to the following corporate priorities: (please bold all those applicable):

An exemplary council	Thriving communities	
A fair local economy that works for everyone	Good homes, green spaces, healthy places	

Background to the report

- 11. Each year Cabinet nominates to Council the Mayor-elect and Deputy Mayor-elect for the following municipal year (May to May).
- 12. Traditionally the Deputy Mayor becomes Mayor-elect is nominated and a new Deputy Mayor-election is nominated.

Nomination of Mayor-elect and Deputy Mayor-elect

- 13. It is proposed that Councillor David Howarth be nominated as Mayor-elect for the 2022-2023 municipal year.
- 14. The nomination for Deputy Mayor-elect for 2022-2023 with a view to becoming Mayor-elect from 2023-2024, subject to the council elections, will be put forward at the meeting.

Protocol for selecting nominations for Mayor

15. Over recent years there has been some discussion about how best to select nominations to become Mayor with a number of informal mechanisms used previously.

- 16. As the Mayor must be politically impartial in their role it is felt that a more objective way of selecting nominations for Mayor be adopted for the Deputy Mayor appointment in 2023/2024 with a view to them being Mayor for 2024-2025.
- 17. It is proposed that the nomination for Mayor be based on the number of years of service as a Member of the Council and that this be by rotation across the political groups on the Council.
- 18. In practice this would mean that the Mayor for 2024-2025 would be from the Conservative Group and in subsequent years rotated around the other political groups in the order of the number of seats held at that time.
- 19. A list of Members who have not yet served as Mayor in the order of their length of service is attached at Appendix 1.
- 20. The existing practice of Deputy Mayor becoming Mayor would continue and a Member may only serve as Mayor once.
- 21. The Member may opt to decline the offer of Mayor. Where this is the case, the Member declining the role will be kept on the list in order of length of service and will be re-considered the following time it is that political group's turn to nominate.
- 22. Neither the Leader or any Cabinet Member can be elected as Mayor or Deputy Mayor.
- 23. Where a member may have joined the Council at the same election as another Member and shares the same number of years of service, the offer will be decided in alphabetical order of their surname.
- 24. Those nominated will be reminded of the importance of the Mayoralty being politically impartial, the time commitment required and maintaining high ethical standards in upholding the Council's constitution and code of conduct.

Climate change and air quality

25. The proposals in this report do not impact the climate change and sustainability targets of the Council's green agenda and all environmental considerations are in place.

Equality and diversity

26. The proposed protocol for making nominations for Mayor provides a more objective approach and therefore promotes greater equality of opportunity.

Risk

27. There are no risks as a result of this report.

Comments of the Statutory Finance Officer

28. There are no financial implications as a result of this report as the costs associated with the Mayoralty are already included within the Council's budgets.

Comments of the Monitoring Officer

29. This report meets statutory and constitutional requirements.

Background documents

There are none.

Appendices

Appendix 1 – List of Members who have not yet served as Mayor in the order of their length of service.

Report Author:	Email:	Telephone:	Date:
Shared Services Lead - Democratic, Scrutiny & Electoral Services	dcranshaw@southribble.gov.uk	01772 625512	18/12/21

Appendix 1

List of Members who have not yet served as Mayor in the order of their length of service on the Council

Dated Elected to the Council (including any broken service)	Name of Member
4 May 1995 (broken 3 May 2007 to 6 May 2011)	Evans, Bill
4 May 1995 (broken 3 May 2007 to 2 May 2013)	Howarth, David
6 May 1999 (broken 3 May 2007 to 6 May 2011)	Forrest, Derek
1 May 2003	Coulton, Colin
1 May 2003	Green, Michael
1 May 2003	Mullineaux, Peter
3 May 2007	Foster, Paul
3 May 2007	Smith, Phil
1 May 2003 (broken 3 May 2007 to 13 October 2011)	Higgins, Mick
16 Mar 2017 (broken 10 May 2011 to 15 March 2017)	Chisholm, Carol
3 May 2007 (broken 6 May 2011 to 2 May 2013)	Ogilvie, Alan
4 June 2009	Tomlinson, Caleb
6 May 2010	Moon, Caroline
3 May 2007 (broken 7 May 2011 to 5 May 2015)	Blow, Renee
5 May 2011	Jones, Susan
5 May 2011	Martin, Keith
5 May 2011	Mort, Jacqueline
4 May 1995 (broken 5 May 1999 to May 2019)	Wooldridge, Carol
1 May 2003 (broken 3 May 2007 to 7 May 2019)	Shaw, David
7 May 2015	Walton, Karen
7 May 2015	Watkinson, lan

Dated Elected to the Council (including any broken service)	Name of Member	
7 May 2015	Wharton-Hardman, Paul	
5 May 2016	Donoghue, Mal	
3 May 2007 (broken 4 May 2011 to 6 May 2021)	Buttery, Julie	
7 May 2019	Adams, Will	
7 May 2019	Alty, Jacky	
7 May 2019	Bretherton, Damian	
7 May 2019	Bylinski Gelder, Aniela	
7 May 2019	Campbell, Matt	
7 May 2019	Flannery, James	
7 May 2019	Lomax, Chris	
7 May 2019	Sharples, Colin	
7 May 2019	Thurlbourn, Stephen	
7 May 2019	Trafford, Matthew	
7 May 2019	Turner, Angela	
23 October 2019	Watson, Gareth	
6 May 2021	Unsworth, Kath	
18 November 2021	Hunter, Clare	